No. of :

No. of Shares:

Currently viewed by: Marcus Rosit

PH bans travellers from South Africa, 6 other countries

Added to PH Red List due to new COVID-19 Omicron variant

CALOOCAN CITY, (PIA) -- The Philippine Government has now banned travellers from South Africa and six other countries added to the Red List over the new COVID-19 Omicron variant.

The Bureau of Immigration (BI) has announced that it will implement the recent directive from the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-MEID) banning travelers coming from South Africa, Botswana, and other countries in a bid to prevent the entry of the new variant.

In an advisory, BI Commissioner Jaime Morente shared that those coming from South Africa, Botswana, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Lesotho, Eswatini, and Mozambique will temporarily be barred entry starting November 28.

Those with a travel history from these countries within the last 14 days will likewise be disallowed entry,” he added.

The announcement follows the approval of the IATF-MEID on the suspension of inbound international flights from said countries with local cases or with likelihood of occurrences of the Omicron variant.

Morente clarified that the ban on Faroe Islands and the Netherlands remain in place until December 15, after which the IATF will decide whether to extend or lift it. (BI/PIA-NCR)

About the Author

Susan De Leon

Assistant Regional Head


Current Officer-in Charge of PIA-NCR

Feedback / Comment

Get in touch