No. of :

No. of Shares:

Currently viewed by: Marcus Rosit

RC Tuguegarao Rainbow welcomes its 22nd President

TUGUEGARAO CITY, Cagayan (PIA) - - The Rotary Club of Tuguegarao Rainbow has conducted a tree planting activity as it welcomed its 22nd president.

It has been a tradition of the club to conduct a tree-planting activity before a Club's President-Elect (PE) will assume office.

PE Shelley Tungcul-Pascual, the 22nd president under the theme: Imagine Rotary,  said the tree planting is a gesture of RTCR in the environment, and at the same time, the event coincided with the celebration of 124th Philippine Independence Day and Environment Month this June.

Rainbow Rotarians plant fruit-bearing trees including indigenous species at the 40-hectare Kiyelas Farm, Brgy. Cadaanan in Solana, Cagayan.

“As we continue to embody Rotary's motto, "Service Above Self," it is but fitting to invest our time and efforts in planting trees. Because as Thomas Fuller once said, "he that plants trees, love others beside himself," PE Pascual said.

Rainbow Rotarians have embraced the tree planting challenged by former Rotary International President Ian Riseley to plant 1.2 million trees - one for every member.

The Club planted some 50 species of fruit-bearing trees including indigenous species at Kiyelas Farm, Barangay Cadaanan in Solana town.

The 40 hectares site was adopted by RCTR last year and is owned by Rotarian Avelino Natividad.

Meanwhile, outgoing President Rodel Z. Rodriguez said planting trees is a long-term commitment to our mother earth.

“I believe if we do our part, our Mother Earth will give back the bounty,” Rodriguez said.

President-Elect Shelley Tungcul-Pascual (right) is the new president of the Rotary Club of Tuguegarao Rainbow. She takes over from President Rodelio Z. Rodriguez (left).
Paul Harris Fellows (L-R) Past President Judd Nazareno C. Dimalanta (+2), President Rodelio Z. Rodriguez, Engr. Avelino Natividad, PE Jun Frederick F. Chua, Engr. Leopoldo A. Catabay, and Rotarian Francisco C. Diciano. Behind them are PP Sonny M. Timbas, RCTR Rotary Foundation Committee Chair Edgar A. Guinucud, and Club’s Secretary Dr. Christine Lillian D. Duque.

On the other hand, the club recognized six Paul Harris Fellows including Past President Judd Nazareno C. Dimalanta (+2), President Rodelio Z. Rodriguez, PE Jun Frederick F. Chua, Rotarians Francisco C. Diciano, Engr. Avelino Natividad, and Engr. Leopoldo A. Catabay.

“This year, all of us are contributed to Every Rotarian Every Year (EREY) amounting to $975, an initiative that encourages all Rotary club members to contribute $100 every year to help us reach our goal to support the Rotary Foundation financially each year,” Pres. Rodriguez said.

RCTR will conduct its 22nd Induction and Turnover Ceremonies on July 14, 2022 at Cagayan National High School. (OTB/ADS/PIA Cagayan)

About the Author

Alvin Delos Santos


Region 2

Feedback / Comment

Get in touch