No. of :

No. of Shares:

Currently viewed by: Marcus Rosit

RDC-CAR confirms 14 PSRs for 2022-2025

BAGUIO CITY (PIA) -- The Regional Development Council - Cordillera (RDC-CAR) confirmed 14 Private Sector Representatives (PSRs) for 2022 – 2025, and they took their oath during the 3rd quarter meeting on Thursday (September 8, 2022).

The Sectoral PSRs are Arnel Cabanisas of the Filipino-Japanese Foundation of Northern Luzon, Inc. (Social Development), Rafael Gayaso of the Northern Luzon Federation of Cooperatives and Development Center (Economic Development), 

Julie Cabato of Shontoug Foundation, Inc. (Watershed and Environmental Managament), Ma. Jorquesa Hakcholna of the Philippine Institute of Environmental Planners - Northern Luzon Chapter (Infrastructure Development), Ferdinand Gonzales of the Peoples Organization for Social Transportation Development Network, Inc. (Development Administration), Edna Tabanda of Igorot Global Organization Philippines (Indigenous Peoples' Concerns), Judith Maranes of Baguio Ancestral Land Claimants Research and Advocacy Team (IP Concerns), Avelino Tomas of Persons With Disability Association (Social Development), and Milton Balagtey of Federation of Free Workers (Labor Sector).

The Geographic PSRs are Paulina Sawadan of Sine Abreño (Abra), Mary Carmelle Bautista of Philippine Institute of Civil Engineers, Inc. Baguio Chapter (Baguio City), Victor Luacan of Coop Bank (Benguet), Godfrey Dominong of Ifugao Global Entrepreneurs Multi-Purpose Cooperative (Ifugao), and Paulino Tumapang of Lang-ay Festival Organization (Mountain Province).

Two geographic seats representing the provinces of Apayao and Kalinga remain vacant.
"Let us put in mind our role as the highest policy making body in the region whose purpose is to stir the development and progress of the Cordillera," National Economic and  Development Authority - Cordillera Regional Director and RDC-CAR Vice Chairperson Susan Sumbeling  told the PSRs.

Duties of the PSRs include attendance to meetings and activities of the RDC Full Council, Executive Committee, Advisory Committee, and its committees; articulate the interests of the private sector; share knowledge, expertise or opinions during meetings; review or endorse plans, programs and projects as well as plan and project monitoring; and become autonomy champions of the SPCAR (Social Preparation of CAR into an Autonomous Region).

Meanwhile, the RDC-CAR approved the endorsement of two nominees each for chairperson and co-chairperson of the council whom President Ferdinand Marcos, Jr. shall select.

Nominees for the chairperson are Apayao Gov. Elias Bulut, Jr. and Benguet Governor Melchor Diclas.

Edna Tabanda and Mary Carmelle Bautista, on the other hand, are nominated for the position of co-chairperson.

The chairman and co-chairman will serve for a fixed term of three years coinciding with the regular term of local elective officials. (JDP/DEG-PIA CAR)

During the RDC-CAR 3rd Quarter Meeting on September 8, 2022. (PIA-CAR)
During the RDC-CAR 3rd Quarter Meeting on September 8, 2022. (PIA-CAR)

About the Author

Jamie Joie Malingan

Regional Editor


Feedback / Comment

Get in touch