No. of :

No. of Shares:

Currently viewed by: Marcus Rosit

PBBM to attend APEC Summit in Thailand

MANILA -- President Ferdinand R. Marcos will join fellow heads of state for the annual Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) Economic Leaders’ Meeting (AELM) in Bangkok, Thailand on November 16 to 19.

In a press briefing on Monday, Office of the Press Secretary Officer-in-Charge and Undersecretary Atty. Cheloy Velicaria-Garafil said the President will also attend other related summits where he is expected to discuss plans and priorities of the Philippines in terms of trade, investment and post-pandemic economic recovery.

“The economic leaders from 21 APEC economies will discuss sustainable trade and investment, reconnecting the region and charting our paths towards post-pandemic recovery and inclusive and sustainable growth,” Velicaria-Garafil said.

The OPS-OIC noted that the APEC is an opportunity for the country to push for economic agenda and priorities including empowerment of the micro-, small- and medium-sized enterprises (MSMEs) and their inclusion in global value chains, recognition of the essential role of maritime crews and seafarers in ensuring stable and resilient supply chains, and ensuring food and energy security as well as climate change mitigation and adaptation.

According to Velicaria-Garafil, the President will likewise participate in the APEC CEO Summit where he will meet with top business leaders in the region.

“He will meet with top executives of Thai companies to discuss business opportunities, investments, and expansion plans,” she said.

The chief executive will also have the opportunity to meet with leaders of economies to discuss bilateral relations and seek the path toward mutual economic benefits.

The President is also scheduled to meet with the Filipino community in Thailand.

This will be the first in-person meeting of the 21-member regional economic bloc since the pandemic hit at the start of the year 2020.

The two previous AELMs were held virtually in 2021 and 2022, hosted by Malaysia and New Zealand, respectively.

The 21 member economies of APEC are Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, South Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines, Russia, Singapore, Chinese Taipei, Thailand, the United States and Viet Nam. (PND)

About the Author

Kate Shiene Austria

Information Officer III

Information Officer III under the Creative Production Services Division of the Philippine Information Agency. 

Feedback / Comment

Get in touch