No. of :

No. of Shares:

Currently viewed by: Marcus Rosit

3 IPMRs from SurSur awardees of 2022 Most Outstanding in Caraga

TANDAG CITY, Surigao del Sur -- During the recent celebration of Indigenous Peoples Month, the National Commission on Indigenous Peoples (NCIP) Caraga spearheaded the 2022 Search for Most Outstanding Indigenous Peoples Mandatory Representative/s (IPMR) of Caraga.

With the theme, “25 Years: Fulfilling the Indigenous Peoples’ Rights and Bridging the Gaps through the Indigenous Cultural Communities/Indigenous Peoples (ICCs/IPs) Convergence with Partners and Stakeholders to Ensure Economic Sustainability and Security in the Ancestral Domains”, seven Indigenous People (IP) leaders/officials were recognized for their exemplary accomplishments in the region.

NCIP announced the seven IP awardees, three of whom proudly represented the province of Surigao del Sur, to name: 

Hawudon Jimmy Guinsod
● Provincial IPMR of Surigao del Sur
Hawudon Nelbert Sahay
● Municipal IPMR of Tagbina, Surigao del Sur; and
Hawudon Rico Maca
● Municipal IPMR of San Miguel, Surigao del Sur.

The awardees’ selection was based on their accomplishments and contributions of the IPMR during program implementation to the covered community through  preservation, protection, promotion of the culture, customs, and traditions and in the transfer of indigenous knowledge systems and practices.

Meanwhile, Surigao del Sur is the first provincial government to install its Provincial IPMR in Caraga Region according to NCIP-Surigao del Sur provincial Office chief Engr. Charlyn Binghoy. (NGPB/PIA-Surigao del Sur)

About the Author

Nida Grace P. Barcena



Whatever comes to destroy me,
I always try to stay firm,
& be d BRAVEST as
I can be.

Feedback / Comment

Get in touch