No. of :

No. of Shares:

Currently viewed by: Marcus Rosit

FOI practitioners, champions recognize at 2022 FOI Award

QUEZON CITY (PIA) -- To recognize the significant contribution of key actors and organizations in the overall progress and development of the Freedom of Information (FOI) Program, the FOI- Program Management Office held its 2022 FOI Awards on November 25.

Philippine Information Agency (PIA) Director-General Ramon Lee Cualoping III, in his, message, lauded the efforts and extraordinary achievements of government offices as well as non-government organizations in working for the advancement of FOI over the past year.

Patuloy ang FOI sa pagiging matatag na tulay ng ating mamamayan sa pagkalap nang wasto at tamang impormasyon mula sa mga ahensiya ng ating gobyerno. Hangarin namin na pagyamanin ang kaalaman ng ating mga kababayan dahil iba ang Pilipinong may alam, maalam, at may pakialam sa bayan,” he noted.

Meanwhile, FOI Philippines Program Director Krizia Casey P. Avejar shared that FOI Philippines has continually reimagined and engineered methodology in advocating the right to information of every Filipino citizen.

As we are slowly reaching our goal of institutionalizing FOI, we call on everyone. Let us continue to persevere and promote the right of every Filipino to exercise the right to access public information and build a nation of smart and well-informed citizenry,” Avejar urged.

Philippine Information Agency (PIA) Director-General Ramon Lee Cualoping III
FOI Philippines Program Director Krizia Casey P. Avejar

For the department award category, the Department of Energy (DoE) was awarded as the department champion, followed by the Department of Tourism (DOT) as the first runner-up and the Department of Transportation (DOTr) as the second runner-up.

The Pampanga State Agricultural University was recognized as the FOI champion for State Universities and Colleges (SUCs), with Central Luzon State University and Aklan State University coming in as first and second runner-up, respectively.

In the Government-Owned and/or-Controlled Corporations (GOCCs) category, the National Housing Authority (NHA)landed the champion position, with the Philippine Reclamation Authority (PRA) for the first runner-up and the Philippine Children's Medical Center (PCMC) as the second runner-up.

The Technology Application and Promotion Institute (TAPI) bagged the champion award for Agencies/Bureaus/Commissions/Councils, with the National Mapping and Resource Information Authority (NAMRIA) as the first runner-up and National Telecommunications Commission (NTC) as the second runner-up.

For the Local Water Districts (LWDs) category, Tandag City Water District, Surigao del Sur was hailed the champion; followed by Santa Maria Water District, Bulacan; and Bayawan Water District, Negros Oriental as first runner-up and second runner-up, respectively.

Meanwhile, for being consistent with its commitment to excellence in public service through the implementation of the f FOI Program, the FOI Hall of Fame: Commitment to Excellence Award was given to Davao City Water District, Davao City,

Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA), and Department of Labor and Employment (DOLE).

Government offices and non-government organizations alongside their personnel were also given plaques of appreciation to recognize their exemplified contributions, progress, and performance in the implementation of the FOI program.

FOI Awards 2022 is anchored on the theme “Championing Access to Information Towards a Connected, Empowered, and Inclusive Nation.” It is an annual gathering of leading FOI practitioners and FOI Champions from the government and non-government sectors that was established in 2017. (EEDC/PIA-CPSD)

About the Author

Eunice Dela Cruz


Central Office

Feedback / Comment

Get in touch