No. of :

No. of Shares:

Currently viewed by: Marcus Rosit

5 ‘beyond complaint’, 8 ‘full compliant’ LGUs in NCR get 2022 GK Seal

Photo Caption: Muntinlupa City Councilor Paty Katy Boncayao and  Muntinlupa City Department of Disaster Resilience and Management (DDRM) Head Mr. Erwin Alfonso receive the Gawad Kalasag during 22nd Gawad Kalasag (GK) Seal National Awarding Ceremonies, Wednesday, December 7, 2022, at the Manila Hotel, Manila City. Muntinlupa is one of the five cities in NCR who managed to get "Beyond Compliant" rating during the GK validation.

CALOOCAN CITY, (PIA)--Five local government units (LGUs) in Metro Manila with beyond compliant rating and eight with full complaint rating were among those awarded the Gawad Kalasag today after completing series of assessments, validations and deliberations of the National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (NDRRMC) validation team.

The cities of Makati, Muntinlupa, Malabon, Parañaque, and Quezon City, received the highest “Beyond Compliant” award at the 22nd Gawad Kalasag (GK) Seal National Awarding Ceremonies, today, December 7, 2022, at the Manila Hotel, Manila City.

Aside from the five, the following eight cities of the National Capital Region (NCR) received the “Full Compliant” award: Pasay, San Juan, Navotas, Valenzuela, Caloocan, Mandaluyong, Las Piñas, and Pasig.

Based on the guidelines, Beyond Compliant LGUs are those that get an assessment rating of 2.5 to 3 while Fully Compliant LGUs are those that receive a rating of 1.5 to 2.49.

According to the OCD, there are 135 Beyond Compliant and 436 Fully Compliant awardees this year among local government units (LGUs) nationwide. The assessment covered 1,715 LGUs in the country.

The GK is a performance assessment mechanism and instrument that reinforces the commitment and support of stakeholders towards the enhancement of their DRRM programs by recognizing their exceptional contributions in strengthening the resilience and capacities of the communities.

This year’s GK has five categories recognizing the exemplary performance and notable contributions of various key players and stakeholders in disaster risk reduction and humanitarian assistance: (1) GK Seal for Local DRRM Councils and Offices; (2) GK Seal for Civil Society Organizations; (3) GK Special Awards for GEMS; (4) GK Special Awards for Private Organizations; and (5) GK Special Recognitions. (pia-ncr)

About the Author

Susan De Leon

Assistant Regional Head

National Capital Region

Current Officer-in Charge of PIA-NCR

Feedback / Comment

Get in touch