No. of :

No. of Shares:

Currently viewed by: Marcus Rosit

8 EV towns get brand new fire trucks from BFP

TACLOBAN CITY (PIA) -- Some eight municipalities in Eastern Visayas received brand new fire trucks from the Bureau of Fire Protection (BFP), Chief Superintendent Adel De Paz, BFP-8 regional director, said in an interview.

The fire trucks were distributed to Matag-ob and Tabon-Tabon in Leyte; Culaba, Kawayan, and Naval in Biliran province; Bobon in Northern Samar; and Hinunangan and Liloan in Southern Leyte.

The fire fighting vehicles were among the 74 units of 1000 gallons capacity fire trucks procured by the BFP under the General Appropriations Act of 2022 which is part of the Agency’s vision of a modern fire service fully capable of ensuring a fire-safe nation by 2034.

CSupt. Adel De Paz Bautista expressed gratitude to the top management for addressing the insufficient number of fire trucks in the region.

“Yes, nasa mga fire stations na ang brand new fire trucks at malaki ang aming pasasalamat dito,” Bautista said.

To date, 16 municipalities in the region have no fire stations which also means no fire truck.

These are Pintuyan in Southern Leyte; Maripipi in Biliran: Llorente, Maydolong, Mercedes in Eastern Samar; Almagro, Daram, Sto. Niño, Tagapul-an, Talalora, and Zumarraga in Samar; and Biri, Lapinig, Rosario, San Vicente, and Victoria, in Northern Samar.

During the last quarter of 2022, two (2) fire stations in Region 8 were activated -- Anahawan Fire Station in Southern Leyte, and San Julian Fire Station in Eastern Samar. (MMP/CBA/PIA-8)

About the Author

Consuelo Alarcon


Region 8

Feedback / Comment

Get in touch