No. of :

No. of Shares:

Currently viewed by: Marcus Rosit

Magpale is new Reyna Dabawenya

DAVAO CITY- Sheila Magpale III, a 23-year-old fashion design student was crowned as the new Reyna Dabawenya during the coronation night held on March 15 at the Petro Gazz Arena.

Reyna Dabawenya is a pageant for transgender women that was launched in 2019. The COVID-19 pandemic however forced it into a three-year hiatus.

Magpale will be the second Reyna Dabawenya after Rojean Buhian who won the first staging of the pageant in 2019. This year’s grand winner will receive P200,000 along with sash and crown.

Magpale III  impressed the jurors during the Q&A when asked what the City Government should do to promote gender inclusivity and address transphobia.

"I will work with the local government of Davao City to help enact the Implementing Rules and Regulations of our anti-discrimination ordinance for us to be full protected, not only the rest of the LGBT community but the rest of society," was Magpale's title-clinching answer.

Pageant director Dan Salvaña said the concept of this year’s pageant is “Queen of the Night.”

"That is our concept, our treatment if you look at our photos the candidates are seated on the throne, then to the opening numbers to the video," Salvaña said.

I wanted the candidates to feel like queens and even the audience will see them as the queen of the night. But this is not the literal na traditional queen eto yung modelo talaga na queen na gusto namin makita at maramdaman," Salvaña added.

The Reyna Dabawenya is one of the major events in the celebration of the 86th Araw ng Dabaw.

“Just joining this pageant or activity you are not just showcasing your talents, your beauties and your wit but most especially your platforms and advocacies for the LGBTQIA+ community in Davao City,” says Davao City Vice Mayor Melchor Jay Quitain in his message during the pageant.

Apart from Reyna Dabawenya Sheila Magpale III, Gretchen Alngog was selected as the first runner up, while Daizy Marie Beronio got the second runner-up plum. (PIA/RG Alama)

Sheila Magpale III (middle) wins the crown during the Reyna Dabawenya 2023. She is flanked by Gretchen Alngog (left) first runner up, and Daizy Marie Beronio (right) second runner-up.

About the Author

Carina Cayon

Regional Editor

Region 11

Feedback / Comment

Get in touch