No. of :

No. of Shares:

Currently viewed by: Marcus Rosit

OCD-NCR announces Gawad Kalasag Call for Entries

(Photos courtesy: Malabon City Public Information Office/file)

MANILA, (PIA) -- The Office of Civil Defense-National Capital Region (OCD-NCR) has announced the call for entries for the 23rd Gawad KALASAG (GK) Seal and Special Awards for Excellence in Disaster Risk Reduction and Management (DRRM) and Humanitarian Assistance in Metro Manila. Deadline will be on May 12, 2023.

The prestigious annual program, according to OCD-NCR Regional Director Romulo Cabantac, has been a flagship program that continues to recognize the importance of efforts, and encourages individuals and organizations to innovate and implement effective disaster risk reduction and management and humanitarian assistance for more than two decades.

The Gawad KALASAG is open to all local government units, schools, higher education institutions, hospitals, non-government organizations, civil society organizations, volunteer groups, and private entities that have demonstrated outstanding efforts in disaster risk reduction and management. 

Among the categories include the Special Awards for (1) Civil Society Organizations (i.e. Best Civil Society Organization, Best People’s Organization, Best Volunteer Organization); (2) Hospitals; (3) Schools; (4) Private Organizations; (5) Government Emergency Management and Response Teams (GEMs); (6) GK Special Recognitions which includes Heroic Act, Special Recognition for Individuals and Organizations; and the (7) GK Seal for Local DRRM Councils and Offices, which is a mandatory assessment.

Now on its 23rd year, the annual Gawad KALASAG (KAlamidad at Sakuna LAbanan, SAriling Galing ang Kaligtasan) aims to promote and recognize the efforts of local government units, non-government organizations, and private entities in enhancing disaster preparedness and response in their respective communities. 

The Gawad KALASAG has been our most important platform to showcase innovative practices, best practices, and successful models in DRRM and Climate Change Adaptation at all levels,” Cabantac said. 

This is an opportunity for our communities to showcase their achievements in disaster preparedness, response, recovery and rehabilitation, and at the same time, learn from each other,” he added. 

To qualify for the award, entries must have demonstrated effectiveness and innovation in disaster risk reduction and management, community participation, sustainability, and replicability. Previous winners are also eligible to submit their entries as long as they can demonstrate continued improvement and innovation in their practices.

National Finalists and Winners for the GK Special Awards will receive cash prizes and plaques, and will be given the opportunity to share their best practices and experiences in DRRM. The announcement of winners will be during the awarding ceremony to be conducted in December 2023.

With the increasing frequency and intensity of natural disasters in the country, the Gawad KALASAG serves as a reminder on the importance of preparedness and resilience in building safer and more sustainable communities. (PIA-NCR)

About the Author

Jerome Carlo Paunan


National Capital Region

Feedback / Comment

Get in touch