No. of :

No. of Shares:

Currently viewed by: Marcus Rosit

Solon poised for approval of bill for 2 Eastern Samar districts

BORONGAN CITY (PIA) -- House Minority Leader and 4Ps Partylist Representative Marcelino Libanan is confident that the legislation he is promoting which seeks to split the one congressional district of Eastern Samar into two will be put into effect.

Rep. Libanan disclosed in a press conference in Oras on April 17 that the province, which consists of Borongan City and 22 municipalities, is ready to be divided.

According to Libanan, once the Congress supports this bill regarding "redistricting," it is ministerial to approve the bill on 2nd reading, 3rd reading, and the Senate.

"This redistricting, creating a district, is a matter of House concern; that's the Lower House, it has nothing to do with the Senate," Libanan said.

Libanan, who formerly represented the province's sole Congressional District from 1988 until 2007, is optimistic that his legislation and leadership would be given priority as he is the minority leader.

Under this house bill of Libanan, the first congressional district will encompass Borongan City as well as the local governments of Arteche, Can-vid, Dolores, Jipapad, Maslog, Oras, San Julian, San Policarpo, Sulat, and Taft.

The proposed second congressional district will include the municipalities of Balangiga, Balangkayan, Gen. MacArthur, Giporlos, Guiuan, Hernani, Lawaan, Llorente, Maydolong, Mercedes, Quinapondan, and Salcedo, he said. (MMP/VTG with Jeric Carpina/ESSU Intern/Pen Pomida DYES-RP)

About the Author

Samuel Candido


Region 8

Feedback / Comment

Get in touch