No. of :

No. of Shares:

Currently viewed by: Marcus Rosit

DILG: Over 15k establishments nationwide given Safety Seals by LGUs

QUEZON CITY -- The Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) today said that some 15,687 private and public establishments all over the country have been awarded a Safety Seal certification by Local Government Units signifying that they have complied with the minimum public health standards (MPHS) set by the government.

DILG Spokesperson and Undersecretary Jonathan E. Malaya said that of the more than 15k establishments, around 4,000 are government buildings or establishments that have been issued a Safety Seal certificate by the DILG, with a number of local government units (LGUs) being visited by the Department’s officials themselves for the ceremonial installation of the Safety Seal.

“The issuance of the Safety Seal to an establishment is mutually beneficial to the private business enterprise and the public. People are assured that the establishment strictly observes MPHS for public health safety while the establishments also benefit from increased consumer confidence from the public to patronize their businesses,” said Malaya.

The Safety Seal program is an inter-agency initiative by the DILG, the Department of Health (DOH), the Department of Trade and Industry (DTI), Department of Labor and Employment (DOLE), and Department of Tourism (DOT) which awards public and private establishments or buildings with a Safety Seal to be conspicuously displayed indicating that a particular building or establishment is compliant with health protocols against COVID-19.

Malaya said that the Safety Seal program addresses two issues: prevention, as it aims to prevent people from getting infected by requiring establishments to comply with MPHS requirements, and consumer confidence, by encouraging the public to visit and patronize business establishments that have been validated to have implemented appropriate health protocols against Covid-19.

“Ngayong tumataas na naman ang kaso ng COVID-19, napakaimportante na ang mga establisimyento ay may Safety Seal upang makasigurado ang publiko na ligtas at sumusunod sa MPHS ang mga pinupuntahan nila,” he said.

Among the 18 regions in the country, Malaya said the National Capital Region (NCR) has the highest total number of establishments issued with the Safety Seal, with over 9,638 public and private establishments getting the certification. Following NCR is Region IV-A CALABARZON, with 1,194 establishments getting a seal.

From Luzon, Quezon City currently has the highest number of establishments with a Safety Seal with 3,171, while for the Visayas, it is Negros Oriental with 107. For Mindanao, Zamboanga del Norte has the highest number with 458 total establishments.

The DILG started the implementation of the Safety Seal program in late May, with Issuing Authorities awarding Safety Seals to Mandaluyong, Valenzuela, Paranaque, Manila, Taguig, Pasig, Marikina, Quezon City, Pasay, Caloocan, Muntinlupa, Pateros, and Makati establishments.

According to Joint Memorandum Circular (JMC) No. 21-01, series of 2021, which provides the implementing guidelines of the Safety Seal Certification program, the Safety Seal is valid for six months from the date of issuance, except for those issued to tourism enterprises which shall be valid for one year. It may be revoked by the Issuing Authority if establishments are found to be non-compliant with any of the MPHS during the six months validity of the seal.

There are three ways to acquire a Safety Seal: first, business owners may apply for a Safety Seal by doing a self-assessment using the provided checklist from an Issuing Authority; second, establishments may be visited by an inspection team to assess if they abide by MPHS; and lastly, Issuing Authorities may conduct surprise inspections upon receipt of a complaint from the public regarding possible MPHS violations.

The Safety Seal features a green check at the center and is outlined by the statement: “This establishment follows safety & health protocols against COVID-19”. It also indicates the Issuing Authority, the date of issuance, and the Safety Seal number.

The DILG, DOLE, DOT, DTI, and all LGUs, city or municipality, serve as Issuing Authorities of the Safety Seal. Each Issuing Authority has a different set of establishments for which they can grant the certification. For example, LGUs can issue Safety Seals to malls, wet markets, and other retail stores, while the DILG may grant Safety Seals to city halls, municipal halls, and provincial capitols.

According to Malaya, the DILG has directed all LGUs to create Inspection and Certification Teams (ICT) to lead in the granting of the Safety Seal to establishments compliant with the MPHS.

He said uniformed personnel of the PNP and the Bureau of Fire Protection (BFP) may also be deputized by LGUs to conduct Safety Seal inspections if they lack the personnel to do so. (DILG)

About the Author

Kate Shiene Austria

Information Officer III

Information Officer III under the Creative Production Services Division of the Philippine Information Agency. 

Feedback / Comment

Get in touch