No. of :

No. of Shares:

Currently viewed by: Marcus Rosit

72nd Palanca Awards call for entries

CAGAYAN DE ORO CITY (PIA) -- The Carlos Palanca Foundation, Inc., announced on April 1 that it is accepting entries to the 72nd Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature (CPMA).

The most prestigious literary competition in the Philippines, the Palanca Awards, is open to all Filipino citizens or former Filipino citizens of all ages, based locally or abroad. Authors who wish to join may submit only one (1) entry per category, as follows: Novel and Nobela; English Division: Short Story, Short Story for Children, Essay, Poetry, Poetry Written for Children, One-Act Play, and Full-length Play; 

Filipino Division: Maikling Kuwento, Maikling Kuwentong Pambata, Sanaysay, Tula, Tula Para sa mga Bata, Dulang May Isang Yugto, Dulang Ganap ang Haba, and Dulang Pampelikula; Regional Languages Division: Short Story-Cebuano, Short Story-Hiligaynon, and Short Story-Ilokano; Kabataan Division: Kabataan Essay (English) and Kabataan Sanaysay (Filipino).

The Kabataan essay focuses on how today's youth are deeply influenced by technological advancements in social media and artificial intelligence (AI) and how the government and families can help the youth harness their transformative potential while mitigating inherent risks as they navigate the digital landscape.

Published works first published within two years between June 1, 2022, and May 31, 2024, as well as unpublished works, are eligible for submission in the Novel and Nobela categories. The Dulang Pampelikula category only accepts unproduced works. A work that has won a prize in another contest before midnight on May 31 is not eligible.

Submission must be accomplished online via the Palanca Awards website at ph. The Carlos Palanca Foundation will not accept printed or email submissions for all categories. 

The deadline for submission of entries is May 31.

For the official contest rules and forms, one may visit the Palanca Awards website. Inquiries and other concerns may be directed via email at cpfoundation@palancaawards. or by landline at (632) 8843-8277 or (632) 8478-7996. Interested participants may look for Leslie Layoso or Ms. Susan Castillo.

All winners will be honored in a special ceremony later this year. (CID Communication/PIA-10)

About the Author

Recthie Paculba

Regional Editor

Region 10

Camiguin Information Center Manager 

Feedback / Comment

Get in touch